Volume 01 – Prologue

Yay, I finally start my Original Light Novel officially! Hello, my name is kentusrpg and I present you with ‘I hate being wed in a fantasy world’, hoping, that my story will be good to read.

And I already have a request: I need an editor, who can transform my non-native-english jumble into a pleasent to read experience! But until someone shows some pity, here is the first official draft of the prologue!

Prologue

“Phew…” Exhaling, I wait lying on top of a cliff, while observing an unusual beast. It walks on 4 spider-like legs, while having an chimp-like body on top with two muscular gorilla arms: Monkey-spider. They’re as large as horses and live in packs, this one is patrolling the parameter.

But I have my [Stealth]-ability active, so it won’t notice me, as long as I don’t move. Thanks to the [Camouflage]-skill. [Camouflage] changes the color pattern of the user and his equipment to match the surrounding, but consumes a lot of SP and if you move it won’t change again to match the new surrounding.

At the moment I probably look like grass and rock, since monkey-spiders don’t have a keen sense of smell, it should be enough to hide my presence.

My name is Katsuragi Kenta and I’m a [Scout]. Or at least that’s my class at the moment.

After an incident, my classmates and I were transported to another world by a suspicious being to save mankind. Or something like that.

We got some special kind of powers to do so, but before I get into details: It’s similiar to video games, especially MMORPGs. Since I’m a gamer, I didn’t had too much trouble figuring this out.

And because I’m a [Scout], you probably think that I’m scouting for my classmates, which do have classes like warrior, mage, hero and such. If you do so: You’re wrong.

There are no classmates ready. It’s only me, a spear and a pack of monkey-spiders. I counted six so far.

At least it isn’t my goal to kill them all, just getting into their cave to loot it. Fighting them would be too inefficient, so all I can do is wait.

Patience. I only need to wait until the monkey-spiders leave for hunting.

But you don’t have an idea how lying around a whole day can be boring and thrilling at the same time. Boring because you can’t do anything. Thrilling because if you do anything, they detect you.

Getting this close was lucky enough. When the monkey-spiders leave the cave, I can simply climb down and raid the cave.

I don’t know if there is something valuable inside, but at least I know, that monkey-spiders like to collect trophies.

Even though most of it may be junk, at least some treasures might be inside.

… I’m getting hungry.

My throat is dry as a desert. Numbness and pain are all over my body, since I’m lying that long on hard ground. The sun is shining on me, so I sweat like crazy. And if I don’t endure it, the monkey-spiders are sure to detect me and then they’ll kill me.

Oh great.

But at some point the diurnal monkey-spiders will go hunting. Since I’m already waiting for four hours, it can be any moment.

Any moment.

Oh please!

About an hour later, the monkey-spiders finally gathered and went to hunt. I’ve waited ten minutes before moving my muscles the first time after several hours.

My status said that I got the [Sore] condition and my attributes were decreased. With the [Starving] condition, I shouldn’t climbing down cliffs, so I ate and drank first. And now, another ten minutes later, I’m ready to descend.

I take a torch out of my backpack and lit it up. Torches are bad at lighting things up compared to modern means, but I have the [Scout]-class, so I got the [Perception]-ability and its [Darksight]-skill.

Even though it isn’t on a level to actually see in total darkness, it let me even see clearly to fifty meters with any sort of light source. Even a matchstick would be enough.

The cave is full of webs and I guess it smells like monkey. Not that I actually smelled one before.

Even though the monkey-spiders are hunting, I shouldn’t get careless. Maybe a few were left behind. I never fought with monkey-spiders before, but they seem to be dangerous. Better to try a single one first.

Exploring a cave isn’t exciting. You see rocks, more rocks, and every step you take is echoing. That makes it harder to distinguish noise.

Unless you have the [Perception]-ability and its multitude of skills.

First, I drop the torch and take the spear in both hands, while turning around quickly. A monkey-spider tries to sneak up on me!

With a thrust I force it a bit back, but its movement are really weird. Four spiderlegs makes it quicker than it look.

No, it just seems that way.

Being larger than me would normally give me an advantage in mobility, but monkey-spiders seem to be able to move in all direction in short speed-bursts.

Even though the chimp-like upper body with the gorilla arms aren’t that fast, its erratic movements make it harder to get a grasp of its speed.

Much like a fly. A fly isn’t that fast, but since it moves in a unregulated manner, you have a hard time following it.

Even though the monkey-spider can accelerate for a short time, doesn’t mean it’s actually that fast.

How I know it? [Perception]-ability, [Focus]-skill.

But does it help me?

Probably not.

With a quick sprint in my direction, the monkey-spider throws a punch, but I dodge it. At least I can see through its movement.

But at the same time I realize, that my spear would have a hard time to get a good hit. And my [Strength]-attribute isn’t that high either, so the damage won’t be that much. I’m a [Scout], after all.

Maybe I should have bought a bow. But these are expensive and need arrows, which aren’t cheap either. But man, I should have totally bought one. Even though I’m currently in a position, where I couldn’t use it at all.

Damn it! Concentrate on the monkey-spider!

It may have its speed-bursts, but I can probably outrun it.

Without hesitation I run back to the cave entrance. The monkey-spider tries to catch up, but actual running is better than those speed-bursts in this case.

I already see the daylight, but then I hear a strange noise and look back. A white ball of goo is flying straight at me.

Of course, a ball of web. Should have known that.

I let myself fall to the ground and used the momentum to make a roll, while still holding the spear. Training that move was totally worth it. The web-ball flies above me, but the monkey-spider is about to catch up.

But now I have it.

I call the menu, choose the [Change Class]-option, and took the [Pikeman]-class.

With a grin I stand up and lift my spear.

I feel how my muscles growing and initiate a [Spear]-skill, [Speedthrust].

Before the monkey-spider could realize what happened, I already have sunken my spear deep into its chimp-like body, right into its heart.

It falls to the ground and becomes lifeless.

Monkey-spiders are dangerous. Never fight more than one for now.

I change back to the [Scout]-class. Even though I would rather stay a [Pikeman], I lose my [Perception]-ability with that [Class Change], and therefore end up death before noticing the next ambush.

This is the reason, I retreated back to the sunlit entrance, since there I would be able to actually aim my [Speedthrust]. But now it’s time to resume my search.

Luckily, there aren’t any monkey-spiders left.

And at the nest I see some items, which might be interesting.

I take a bag out of my backpack and shove anything in, which isn’t clearly junk and leave the cave.

An hour later, I can finally take a breather.

A successful hunt.

I retrieved some coins, potions and jewelry. And a knife.

When I focus on one of these items, I can see names and descriptions there. For example:

=======================================================================

[??? Knife]

Description: This Knife has a lightly curved blade and is made out of metal.

Status: Unknown

Value: Unknown

=======================================================================

Not very helpful.

Unless I equip it. Then it becomes:

=======================================================================

[Steel Knife]

Description: This knife is made out of actual steel and is good as a weapon or all-purpose tool.

Status: +35 Attack, Tool-Bonus

Value: 350 Newgold

=======================================================================

Hey, actually pretty good. It has more attack power than my spear, but since it have a short range, I better use it as a secondary weapon.

After I identified an item, I can see its stats whenever I look at it, even without equipping it.

So I go through the stuff I found and look at it. Coins and other things you don’t have to wear can be appraised without further steps.

But the jewelry had to be worn one at a time. And since I don’t have my earlobes pierced, I can’t wear any earrings. Here I have to ask a merchant, which will surely try to trick me so I sell it at a lower price.

“Phew.” A lot of rings. And I can only identify them, when I wear them on the ring fingers and multiple at the same time won’t work… Game logic.

I put the rings on in pairs, so I would lessen the time needed to identify them. Most of them aren’t too valuable, even though some have gems or are made out of silver. But most were copper and rather cheap.

Strange.

I have one of these copper rings on my left ring finger, it have an engraving of a male lion, so I thought it might be worth a bit.

But the stats are odd.

=======================================================================

[Lion’s Cursed Ring]

Description: Only few know about the secrets of this ring. It was meant to be a powerful device, which breaks the rules of the world. But its true power is only for those who can understand the proper usage and for those who don’t, it will suck their power until death.

Status: Curses its wearer. Unremoveable.

Value: 0 Newgold

=======================================================================

My mind goes blank. And for some reason, my body feels heavy. But before I get emotional, I should rather check my status.

[Cursed]-condition. What exactly does this curse? I see a pop-up screen, which tells me everything:

=======================================================================

Forced [Class Change] to [Student]

All skills sealed

0 experience points gain

0 ability points gain

Decreased attributes

No regeneration

Lose 10 Max Stamina each day

=======================================================================

And I realize that I’m as good as dead. I was often confronted with deadly situations, but this time, there is a certainly to it. Without even looking at the other stuff, I lay down and rub my temples.

Just how did I got into this mess again?!

Leave a Reply

